RSS

Three cheers for Her Majesty’s Explorer!

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day, readers! I hope that you all snuggle up with something you love today, be it a special someone, a movie, a good book, or enough chocolate to stock Buckingham Palace. My friends and I have decided to partake of Thor and Steampunk Chronicle released my first feature on fundraising, which I also love.

Instead of reviewing something related to romance, I’d like to focus on something that I was asked to review that loops back around to something I’ve loved since I was young: bedtime stories. Ever since my parents would read Dr. Seuss and Judy Blume to me before I went to sleep, I’ve loved a good book to read before going to bed. Eventually, I would start reading by myself and would keep a huge stack of books beside my bed that usually included J.K. Rowling, Meg Cabot, and any other book I could get my hands on.

Still, no matter how old I get, I still get a certain joy out of going through the pictures in storybooks and reading Young Adult novels. So I was excited to get an Advanced Reader Copy of Her Majesty’s Explorer: a Steampunk Bedtime Story by Emilie P. Bush and William Kevin Petty. I have not had a chance to read Emilie’s other books (soon, hopefully!), but Emilie is a wonderful lady in the Atlanta Steampunk scene who is always a joy, even if she’s calling me by an unfortunate nickname that happened after I accidentally walked into a tree…

But yes! Her Majesty’s Explorer! To put it simply, it is lovely and wonderful!

Following automaton St. John Murphy Alexander as he comes back from a long journey of adventuring and prepares the long and arduous journey of just going to bed. Through Petty’s colorful and whimsical  illustrations and Bush’s charming prose, Her Majesty’s Explorer is a sweet children’s storybook that is perfect for winding down at the end of the day. Even if I wasn’t into Steampunk, the story of St. John trying to get to bed is a great little bedtime story that is especially relatable for anyone who’s been very tired, but has to do a million things before bed.

Along with the main story, there’s an extra bonus story titled “Three Cheers for Steamduck”. Telling the story of St. John’s mechanical duck, the poem tells of the amazing adventures that the cute little duckie goes on. It’s like a sugar toothache: it hurts by how sweet and cute it was, but it’s a good kind of ache. If the soda fueled duckie wasn’t cute enough, there’s one page that features a STEAMPUNK OTTER! If I wasn’t already sold on the book, that would have been the page would have done it. I am that obnoxious girl who coos at the otters at the Aquarium, and a Steampunk Otter made it worse. I may have even been inspired to purchase goggles for my own stuffed otter…

Overall, after reading Her Majesty’s Explorer, I’m even more excited for it to be unleashed at the world at large. It’s a story that kids of all ages will find joy in. I especially look forward to sharing this book with those close to me. As I said in my last post, I’m not generally a fan of children, but I have two cousins, Tea and Linn, that are 5 and 9 years old. Tea is sure to be the next funny one in my family and Linn is brilliant and creative. They may not be Steampunk kids, but I have a feeling that they’ll love St. John and Steamduck more than I did.

And that’s what excites me about this book coming out the most.

Her Majesty’s Explorer: a Steampunk Bedtime Story will be released through Amazon on February 28. For now, you can RSVP the date on Facebook and follow Emilie’s blog up to the release.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Books, Steampunk

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Three cheers for Her Majesty’s Explorer!

  1. epbush

    February 15, 2012 at 10:54 am

    Thanks for the review! I hope you all can join us on the 28th for the virtual LAUNCH party – More about that HERE:http://www.facebook.com/events/347525985265865/
    The book will be at AMAZON on the 28th – and at a special discount that day ONLY – Well have special book plates at AnachroCon – so one can get the book signed even before there is a book! how cool is that?
    Not as cool as this TEASE of something great to come… http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=2930770480075&saved
    Love otters in little blue vests and goggles, too…

     

Leave a Reply

 
