RSS

Announcing the June Blogathon!

04 Jun

I’m going to be honest here, I have not been paying as much attention to my blog as I should the past few months. It makes me sad, especially when I promised I was going to be a Monday/Wednesday/Friday blogger. Right now, with my current recent graduate/unemployed regular person status, I have plenty of time to blog and I’m not doing it.

So, starting now and ending July 4, I’m going to be blogging once a day for 30 days! The topics will range all over the place from movies, music, books, television, and god knows what else. Some things I know what I’ll be talking about, some I don’t, but I’m going to keep writing until the 4th.

Tomorrow, I’ll be talking about Snow White and the Huntsman, but have another six songs I’m digging right now!

  1. ‘Gasoline’ – Shovels and Rope – The opening track of Shovels and Rope’s self-titled debut. An immensely great track set to a working march.
  2. ‘Confession of Jack Bonnie and Sally Clyde’ – Frenchy and the Punk – Sadly, this song is nowhere online yet, but it’s a wonderful song from Hey Hey Cabaret about finding love and partnership in a dire situation.
  3. ‘Myself’ – Sunday Driver – The penultimate track from The Mutiny. A chaotic track about independence and selfishness.
  4. ‘Lonely Boy’ – The Black Keys – I don’t know how they did it, but The Black Keys created the perfect driving song. I look forward to eventually adding this to my karaoke repertoire. Maybe? Hopefully?
  5. ‘Breath of Life’ – Florence and the Machine – A beautifully epic song from Snow White and the Huntsman befitting those of fairest blood. I’m sad that this wasn’t on Ceremonials.
  6. ‘Yes’ – Murder By Death – The most cheerful song I’ve ever heard about death and moving on I’ve ever heard. Especially considering that Murder By Death has produced some of the most tragic songs I’ve ever heard.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in General, Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Announcing the June Blogathon!

  1. Marc McAfee

    June 5, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    This is Marc from 11Alive. Trying to get in touch for a Hunger Games interview. Check your Extraordinary Contraptions email.

     
  2. Marc

    June 5, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Not sure if the earlier comment worked, because I don’t see it posted on here. I assume it’s because you have to approve them before they show up? If not, and it didn’t work, just wanted to try one last time to contact you for a Hunger Games interview. I felt bad about missing you last time, and it looks like I’ve missed you again. I tried emailing you about four hours ago, and will have to move on in a few minutes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
