RSS

Ashley’s Favorite Movies of 2013

18 Jan

In 2012, I feel like I spent most of my summer at the movies, watching nearly every big release between May and July. Well, at least the ones I felt like seeing.

This year, not so much.

Last year, I saw a total of nine new releases. That means I’m leaving off a total of three movies. One of them because I’m horribly biased towards it, the other because it was an awful, horrible misogynistic piece of crap, and the last one being just okay.

So out of the nine films I saw last year, which ones did I actually enjoy?

Warm_Bodies_Theatrical_Poster6.) Warm Bodies

Well, I never thought I’d say this, but who knew that a zombie movie could make me coo so much? Especially one based on Romeo and Juliet!

Warm Bodies was an interesting turn on the zombie movie. Told from the inner monologue of a zombie named R (Nicholas Hoult), the film turns from one creature’s acceptance of his de-evolution into a ravenous monster into finding something worth fighting for all thanks to THE POWER OF LOVE.

Which does sound pretty cheesy when I type it out, but it’s a really sweet film that’s extremely funny too. I don’t think I’ve stopped laughing over Rob Corddry as M since last February. If you haven’t seen Warm Bodies yet, add it your watch list for Valentine’s Day this year.

5.) Thor: The Dark WorldTHURS_003B_G_ENG-GB_70x100.indd

I still haven’t made up my mind over if I liked this movie more than the first Thor film, but there was still a lot of fun to be had along the way. Marvel continued into Phase 2 of the Cinematic Universe by showing us more of Asgard and throwing in the fact that other dimensions do exist within the MCU. Which makes me want some hilarious MCU/616 crossovers.

The film wasn’t perfect. Some characters felt pushed to the side and Christopher Eccleston sure as hell wasn’t used to his full potential as Malekith, but the humor was spot on and it was fun to watch Thor and Loki banter, argue, and annoy the ever loving crap out of each other. My favorite past-time while watching the film was utter “Loki, you little shit” over and over again until I screamed it by the end.

Of course, if you really wanted to see me dork out over this film, it was for Idris Elba as Heimdall and the post credits scene that sets up for Guardians of the Galaxy this summer. If you want my more complete thoughts on the film, scroll down to the end of Therese’s review at Nerdophiles, but prepare for spoilers!

MV5BNzA1MTk1MzY0OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjkzNTUwMDE@._V1_SX640_SY720_4.) The World’s End

Well, the Cornetto Trilogy came to an end this year, but man, did it go out with a bang.

Once again, director and co-writer Edgar Wright was there to turn genres on their heads, this time with the friendship comedy-drama with an secret alien invasion movie ala Invasion of the Body Snatchers. The action was amazing and the comedic timing was so spot on that I could barely keep up to the next joke sometimes. However, the most astounding part of the film were the more dramatic moments. The Cornetto trilogy has had them in the past, but never as tragic as the ones in The World’s End. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost carry the film beautifully as Gary King and Andy Knightly, but the supporting cast is just as amazing too.

With an unexpected ending that made me stop and think for a bit after the movie was over, The World’s End took the unofficial trilogy that started with Shaun of the Dead almost ten years before out on a high note. Plus, the action scenes that made me notice that Wright learned a thing or two from Scott Pilgrim vs. The World made me super excited to see what he has in store for us in Ant-Man.

3.) Iron Man 3She's a damsel. She's in distress. She can handle it.

So nice I saw it twice in opening weekend. I’ve already talked about the aspects of the film relating to Tony’s anxiety, but this is exactly the kind of film Marvel needed to kick off Phase 2. Complain about the ending all you want, but it’s not going to take away the fact that we needed a film that explored what being Iron Man means to Tony and how it affects his life after what happened to him in The Avengers. Shane Black delivered that film in spades, and probably better than what Jon Favreau could have done.

Also, if you don’t like Rhodey being the best in this movie, I don’t like you.

2.) The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

This is another film I’ve probably said all I need to say about it, but it was just so damn good that I saw it twice in the same day! No, really.

As a fan of this franchise, I was super proud of this adaptation of my favorite book in the series. It was so spot on to what was happening in the book and all the changes made for the movie adaptation made sense and actually made the story better. That’s rare and beautiful. I just hope the Mockingjay movies will be just as good, but they’re already ahead with Natalie Dormer.

1.) Pacific Rim

I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO HARD. So much so to the point my friends automatically associate the film with me. My review of this movie even got me my job at Nerdophiles, so that’s another reason I have to thank Guillermo Del Toro for making this film. It was prettiest, most fun summer blockbuster I’ve seen in a long time and it was well worth the three times I paid to see it. Including IMAX 3D.

Striker Eureka reporting in!

Next up will be my favorite TV of the year. Heads up, it’s going to be a little more intensive than this one.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2014 in Film

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
